Butter

Bread and butter are essential in my everyday eating habits. I eat bread and butter at least once a day. I did get a bread machine for Christmas this year and I have been making all kinds of homemade bread in it. It brings back memories from when my mom use to make bread for us when we were little, in her bread machine. Not only does it make the house smell incredible (I couldn’t sleep the other night because I was making bread and it’s warm fragrance over took the house and caused me to get super hungry haha) but there is nothing quite like a fresh slice of bread with dinner every night. I thought, well I make my own bread regularly; why not try making my own butter? That way I know exactly what is in the pounds and pounds of butter I eat in a month and who knows, maybe it could save us some mullah in the long run. So I found a recipe to make my own butter. Not only was it incredibly easy to make, but it was a BLAST. Jesse’s was napping (because he only got 4 hours of sleep the night before 😦 ) but I really wish he could have been up to watch the transformation from cream to butter. I will definitely have to make butter again so he can participate. I tried it on some bread immediately after I made it, and to no surprise, it tasted just like regular store bought butter. 🙂 Doing the calculations on the ingredients needed and how much a tub of butter costs at the store, I am pretty sure they are about even. But I think you should at least try it out or get your kids to participate in it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Quart of heavy whipping cream
  • ¾ tsp. salt

Directions:

  1. Pour your quart of heavy whipping cream in a big mixing bowl and add your salt. I used a hand held mixer, but I’m sure it would be much easier if you had your own stand mixer. Either option will work just fine for this.
  2. Turn your hand mixer on low and begin stirring up the cream and salt. You can gradually increase the speed as the mixture gets thicker. I suggest you start on a low speed because the cream will splash everywhere if you don’t. You will continue mixing the cream for about 20-30 mins. After about 20–30 mins the cream will clump up and start to produce liquid. The liquid is buttermilk. (Be careful to bring the speed back down on your mixer or place a towel over the bowl because again, the buttermilk will splash all over.)  At this point your butter starts to stick together really well, and it feels almost waxy, you are done!
  3. IMG_2659
  4. IMG_2662
  5. IMG_2664
  6. IMG_2665
  7. IMG_2666
  8. Squish all your butter together so it forms some sort of ball.
  9. Place a strainer on top of bowl and strain off the liquid. Place your buttermilk liquid in an airtight sealed container and keep it in the fridge. Use it in other recipes such as fried chicken YUM!
  10. IMG_2667
  11. IMG_2669
  12. Take your butter ball and rinse it in water to get any excess buttermilk off.
  13. Place butter in an airtight sealed container and place in the fridge for up to 4 weeks.

IMG_2668

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Butter

  1. When I make my own butter (thought I’ve never done that much at one time) I use big plastic jar (it used to have peanut butter in it), put my cream in, throw in a couple of glass marbles and shake it for a while. Poof! Like magic.

    I mix in the salt after I’ve squeezed the buttermilk out, so my buttermilk isn’t salty

Leave a Reply

