Breakfast Sausage Casserole

This last weekend, Jesse and I were finally able to sit down and enjoy a delicious breakfast together. Jesse has been so busy on the weekends lately that I usually found myself eating breakfast with my pups. Not to complain, they are great company, but I would much rather be having breakfast with my husband haha. So anyway, this last Saturday Jesse and I had no plans! It was beautiful. We slept in and I made this yummy breakfast for him. We seriously ate almost the whole thing in one sitting because it is so very very delicious. I am, and have always been, a fan of sweet things for breakfast. But this, I have got to say, is probably one of my favorite breakfasts I have ever had. I call it Breakfast Sausage Casserole. It has eggs and cheese and sausage and crescents and yummy spices and just everything goes together so well!! I was originally going to make this for Christmas morning breakfast, but some friends of ours opened their house up to us Christmas morning for breakfast so we were all over that invitation! 🙂 I plan on making this breakfast for my grandma when we go back to visit AZ in a week. She loves breakfast sausage so I know she will just love this breakfast casserole. And so will you, so try it out and let me know what you think!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tube of refrigerated crescent rolls
  • ~ 1-2 C uncooked breakfast Italian sausage (feel free to add as much sausage as your family likes)
  • 5 eggs
  • ¼ C milk
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Salt/pepper
  • Rosemary
  • Oregano

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Grease a square casserole dish with some non-stick cooking spray. (Sorry not sure the dimensions of a square casserole dish. All I know is its smaller then a 9×13.)
  3. Place your sausage (if it’s in the casing cut it out of the casing, but I used the kind that doesn’t have a casing.) in a frying pan and cook until completely cooked through.
  4. IMG_2529
  5. Place your crescent rolls in the casserole dish and push the edges together so it forms a crust. I poked some fork holes in the crescents so no air bubbles would form and so the crust could completely cook on the bottom.
  6. IMG_2528
  7. Once your sausage is done, place it on top of the crescents. Sprinkle with as much shredded cheese as you like.
  8. IMG_2530
  9. In a small mixing bowl, mix together your 5 eggs with your milk, and then pour over the sausage and cheese. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, oregano, and rosemary. Feel free to sprinkle as much of those spices as your family likes.
  10. IMG_2531
  11. Pop in the oven for about 20 mins until the crust is nice and brown and the eggs are completely cooked.
  12. IMG_2532
  13. Cut and serve! If there is any leftover, place in an air tight container and keep in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

IMG_2533

Leave a Reply

