Buffalo Chicken Casserole

It’s the time of year when Christmas music is on everyone’s radio and I can’t ever get enough of it. I listen to Christmas music every chance I get. There is just something about Christmas music that puts me in a good mood and makes me want to bake! 🙂 Just a few days ago, Jesse put on the NSYNC Christmas album while we were getting ready for the day, and it brought back so many good memories from when I was young. I also love to listen to Michael Buble’s Christmas album, of course Bing Crosby, Mariah Carey, and Nat King Cole are some favorites too, but I really enjoy the classics like The Grinch, Rudolph the Red nose Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman.

Yeah, I think that list could go on and on, but I think I will talk about the dinner I made the other night (while listening to Christmas music.) I just call it Buffalo Chicken Casserole. I came home late and I needed something quick to just pop in the oven. This recipe was that ticket. It’s so incredibly easy to assemble, it cooks in a matter of minutes, and it taste so so yummy! Try it out, let me know what you think. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 Chicken breast, cut into bit sized pieces
  • 1 C rice, (I used instant rice)
  • Some diced up green peppers (as much as you like)
  • Garlic, salt and pepper
  • ~1/4 C Buffalo sauce (if you like it spicy add more)
  • ¼ C Ranch dressing (I used a combination of a Ranch packet dressing mix and greek yogurt. Either would work just fine)
  • Shredded cheese

Directions:

  1. Place your cut up chicken breast into a well-oiled frying pan on medium high heat. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Cook until there is no more pink showing.
  2. Once the chicken is cooked through, pour your buffalo sauce into the pan and coat your chicken really well with it. Turn the heat down to a simmer.
  3. While you chicken is cooking, follow the packaged directions on your rice box and cook your rice.
  4. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  5. Once your rice is done, place it in a baking dish.  Then on top of your rice, spread your buffalo chicken. Sprinkle your green peppers, a little more garlic, salt and pepper, and spread your ranch dressing all over. On top of your ranch place as much shredded cheese as you like. I added lots (~1 C) because I like it nice and cheesy!
  6. IMG_2409
  7. IMG_2410
  8. IMG_2411
  9. Pop in the oven until the cheese is nice and melty, about 15 mins.

Enjoy!

IMG_2412

Leave a Reply

