Mustard-Oregano Chicken

Christmas is my VERY favorite time of year! All the lights, all the music, all the food, all the great smells, just everything about this time of year makes me so happy!! We try to get as much Christmasy stuff out of this time of year as we can by going to local Christmas plays, watching Christmas movies, always listening to Christmas music, and eating lots of candy canes! (or maybe that last one is just me…) I feel like this time of year just flies by so fast, and I get sad every year it’s over. 😦 But let’s not think about that right now. 🙂  I have started working on my Christmas gifts for the family and have been getting Jesse’s Christmas presents together too. I get to use my sewing machine for Christmas presents this year! I also got to spend about two and a half hours at JoAnn’s this last black Friday picking out a bunch of cute fabric for all my gifts. Ah I just love making gifts for people! It snowed yesterday as Jesse and I were heading home from work, now I pray that it will snow on Christmas so I can actually have a white Christmas this year!! 🙂

Anywho, for my birthday I got this sweet cook book from my brother and sister-in-law. It’s all about preparing meals ahead of time and putting them in the freezer until you are ready to eat them. I love this idea because some nights I get home so late from work and the last thing I want to do is prepare a meal for an hour and then cook it in the oven for another hour! SO this book had so many great recipes that I have been trying out and believe me, not one of them has been a flop. They have all been so tasty!! This one I made is called Mustard-Oregano Chicken. I just made this meal and Jesse is already asking me to make it again haha. It’s super good; you must try it out and let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Chicken Breasts
  • ¼ C Mustard
  • 1/8 C red wine vinegar
  • 1/8 C Lemon juice
  • 1/8 C Vegetable oil
  • 2 TBS honey
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 gallon sized freezer bag for storage

Directions:

  1. Place your chicken breasts into your gallon size freezer bag.
  2. In a mixing bowl, mix all the other ingredients together. Feel free to add more oregano if you like.
  3. Once everything is mixed well together, pour it into the gallon sized freezer bag with the chicken.
  4. Place in the freezer.
  5. When you are ready to eat this meal for dinner, take the chicken out of the freezer and let thaw in the refrigerator overnight.
  6. Then simply, place your chicken and all the mustard sauce in a well-oiled frying pan on medium heat and cook until there is no more pink showing. I cut my chicken breasts up towards the end of cooking them into about four thick slices for each breast. I did this just because it cooked faster that way, and I could swirl the chicken in all the mustard sauce.
  7. IMG_2296
  8. Serve with a little shredded cheese on top.

Enjoy!

IMG_2298

Leave a Reply

