Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins with a Cinnamon Streusel Topping

As I sit here at work, surfing the internet, waiting for my meeting to start, I am happy! Do you want to know why?! Well there are lots of reasons to be happy this morning 🙂 God sure has blessed me in more ways than I can count! But to just name a few, the beautiful changing colors outside my window, my wonderful husband and family who support me and are always there for me, my puppies, my community group and church, my health, my friends, and particularly at this moment, my Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins with cinnamon streusel. Yeah, you head that right! I smile inside every time I take a bite of one of these delicious muffins. They make my mornings so happy, maybe that’s just the foodie in me, but I can’t think of a better breakfast to start off my day. I feel so lucky to actually enjoy the art of baking, it’s not everyone’s forte you know. Every Sunday after church, I look forward to baking treats that Jesse and I get to enjoy during the week. I only pray that when children come along someday, I will still have the energy and time to bake.  😉

I know you want to start your day off with a warm cup of coffee (after all, it is starting to get cold outside)  and one of my Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins with a Cinnamon Streusel  topping so lucky for you, I am going to share this recipe with you! Hopefully they make you as happy as they make me! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • ½ C sugar
  • ¼ C brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. Baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 C plain Greek Yogurt
  • ¼ C unsalted butter, melted
  • ¼ C applesauce (I used cinnamon applesauce for a little extra cinnamon flavor)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Chocolate chips

For the Cinnamon Streusel Topping

  • 1 ¼ C all-purpose flour
  • ½ C brown sugar, packed
  • ¼ C sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • ½ C unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly coat a standard muffin tin with nonstick spray.
  2. To make the cinnamon streusel, combine the flour, sugars, and spices. Then pour your melted butter all over mixing in really well until you get a nice crumble going on. Set aside.
  3. IMG_2123
  4. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and powder and salt.
  5. In another large bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, yogurt, butter, applesauce, egg and vanilla.
  6. Pour your dry ingredients over your wet ingredients and mix together, don’t over mix, just until everything is incorporated. Add in a handful of chocolate chips and mix those in too.
  7. IMG_2125
  8. Spoon the batter into your muffin pan. Each cup should be about ½ – ¾ full, depending on how large you would like you muffins.
  9. IMG_2126
  10. Sprinkle the tops with your cinnamon streusel and lightly press the crumbs into the batter.
  11. IMG_2127
  12. Place in the oven for ~ 18-20 mins.
  13. Remove from the oven and let cool for about 10 mins before removing from the muffin tin. For me this made 16 muffins, plus 8 mini muffins.

Enjoy!!

IMG_2130 

IMG_2129

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins with a Cinnamon Streusel Topping

Leave a Reply

