Corn Beef and Hash

I am so excited to post this fabulous recipe that comes from a wonderful family cook! It is one of Jesse’s very favorite meals, mainly because his mawmaw use to make it! Jesse’s grandma (mawmaw) use to be one of the best cooks in the Johnson family. I wish I could have been around mawmaw when she was cooking for her family, I would have loved to learn all her tasty recipes and develop some of her skills in the kitchen. I do have this awesome cookbook of some of her recipes and I always have Jesse’s family telling me about some of their favorite things that mawmaw use to make for them. I was excited/hesitant when Jesse wanted me to put this dish on the dinner menu, not because it is mawmaw’s recipe, but mainly because I don’t like corn beef but Jesse won me over by saying he wanted to cook it. 🙂 The meal is called Corn Beef and Hash. Now, I have NEVER liked corn beef. That nasty chunk of meat that my parents use to make every St. Patrick’s day with boiled cabbage….UGH it was the most disgusting dinner ever!! So I was really skeptical when Jesse told me he wanted to have this for dinner some night. I finally caved in, and trusted Jesse and let him cook this for dinner. And let me tell you, it was soooooo delicious!! I was pleasantly surprised how tasty this dish is and it will definitely appear on the dinner menu again soon. Try it out; let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion, diced up
  • 2 Potatoes diced up, I used Russet potatoes
  • Corn Beef in the can
  • Dash of pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook your diced potatoes and onion in a well-oiled frying pan on medium heat.
  2. IMG_2068
  3. Once you potatoes are pretty much all the way done, add in your corn beef. You are going to need to break up the corn beef and spread it out in the pan, coating the potatoes really well with it.
  4.  IMG_2069IMG_2070
  5. Sprinkle in a dash of pepper, and let cook until the corn beef is brown and crunchy looking.

Enjoy!!

IMG_2071

Leave a Reply

