Cranberry Bliss Bars

This recipe I made over the weekend for Jesse’s work actually. There was a baking competition between all the employees and since Jesse is no baker, I thought it would be fun to enter. I made Jesse’s very favorite dessert, Cranberry Bliss Bars. They are often seen this time of year at Starbucks, but I got this recipe many years ago from an old friend’s mom. Ever since then they really have been a hit everywhere I take them. In fact, I made these tasty bars for everyone in Jesse’s family for Christmas the first year I started dating Jesse. Everyone loved them, and they knew I would be a great addition to the family as long as I made these for them every year 😉 There is something about these bars that really brings out the holiday spirit in me, so I only start making these in the Fall (except just a little early this year.) I didn’t win the baking competition but Jesse did say everyone loved them anyways which is all a girl could ask for. I hope you make these tasty treats for your family for Thanksgiving or Christmas. Let me know what they think!

Ingredients:

Cake Base:

  • 2 sticks/cubes butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 C brown sugar, packed
  • 3 eggs
  • 1- 1 ½  TBS ground powder ginger (I usually taste the batter to see if I should add in more ginger)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 ½  tsp. baking powder
  • 2 C flour
  • 1/4 C minced dried cranberries
  • 1/4 C white chocolate chips

Frosting:

  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 ½-2 C powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Lemon juice to taste
  • Cranberries
  • White chocolate chips

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 x 13 pan.
  2. Beat together butter and sugar and then add eggs and vanilla beating until light and fluffy.
  3. IMG_1999
  4. In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder and salt.
  5. Add your flour mixture to your wet ingredients and mix well together.
  6. IMG_2000
  7. Fold in the cranberries and chocolate chips.
  8. IMG_2001
  9. IMG_2002
  10. Spread batter in pan and bake for about 20-25 minutes or until light golden brown
  11. After cake cools, mix all frosting ingredients together and spread over top of cake
  12. IMG_2014
  13. Sprinkle with cranberries. Melt some of your white chocolate chips, about ½ C and drizzle that on top.

IMG_2017

Enjoy!

(I forgot to take a picture of them after I cut them up, so you are just going to have to enjoy that last picture ;)!)

Leave a Reply

