Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Last night I made Jalapeno Popper Chicken. I also made a side of red potatoes that not only did I boil, but I also baked them, and let me tell you, they turned out delicious! This meal is great because you prep it, and then the oven does all the work, it really only takes about 15mins to prepare. I was able to watch the wonderfully funny Family Feud while this dinner was a’cookin. When I was younger I use to love eating jalapeno poppers. (who didn’t, right?!) They were somewhat of a treat for us because my mom rarely bought them. They were not very spicy to me, and I loved the cream cheese in them. So I thought I should try to recreate that delicious treat into a mouthwatering dinner. If you like jalapeno poppers I would recommend you give this dish a try and let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • ¼ Cream cheese
  • Jalapenos (I use the pre sliced ones you find in a jar at the grocery store)
  • Italian style bread crumbs
  • Shredded Cheese
  • 2 TBS butter, melted
  • Salt/Pepper

For the Potatoes

  • 4 red potatoes
  • Salt/pepper
  • Dash of oregano
  • Italian style bread crumbs
  • 4 TBS melted butter

Directions

  1. First, place your potatoes into a boiling salted pot of water. Let boil for about 15-20 mins, until they are pretty soft.
  2. IMG_1930
  3. While you are waiting for you potatoes to finish boiling, butterfly cut your two chickens.
  4. IMG_1928
  5. Place about 1/8 C of cream cheese (or more if you like cheesy, you can’t go wrong with adding more cream cheese!) in each chicken. Then layer on top of the cream cheese your jalapeno slices. If you like spicy, add lots of jalapenos. You can even add a sprinkle of the jalapeno juice on your chicken.
  6. IMG_1929
  7. The fold over your chicken and secure with a toothpick.
  8. Place in a baking dish and put in the 375 degree oven for about 40 mins, until cooked all the way through.
  9. IMG_1931
  10. After about 30 mins have passed, take your chicken out of the oven and pour your 1 TBS of melted butter on each chicken. Sprinkle of your Italian style bread crumbs and your shredded cheese and place back in the oven for the last 10 mins or so. (cover with tinfoil so the cheese doesnt burn)
  11. Once your potatoes have finished boiling, take them out of the pot and place them on a well-oiled baking dish ( I used olive oil but butter would work too.) Then squish your potatoes with the bottom of a cup. Be careful not to press to hard because you don’t want your potatoes to come apart.
  12. Then sprinkle your flattened potatoes with your melted butter (1 TBS for each potato) and sprinkle on your salt/pepper, dash of oregano and your bread crumbs.
  13. IMG_1932
  14. Pop into the oven for about 15-20 more mins. Until they have a nice crispy brown color.
  15. Enjoy!

IMG_1935

Leave a Reply

