Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Ever since I was little I have been a really picky eater. (If you ask my mom she would say “really picky” is an understatement!) There was a point in my life, when I was little, that I remember only eating hot dogs and macaroni and cheese at every meal, everyday! I was always the last person at the dinner table, trying to make the three bites my mom told me to eat before I could be done, magically go away! As I got older, my mom was great at catering to my small variety of foods I would actually eat. She was awesome at knowing what would be a wasted dinner and what I would actually eat.  Because I was such a picky eater when I was younger, I grew up to be a picky eater permanently. I remember throughout college having a hard time finding foods that I liked on campus, there were just a few places that I actually would eat at. My friends would make fun of me for eating the same things over and over.

But my picky habits changes drastically when I got married. Jesse is a complete 180 degree different eater then I was. He had been given all kinds of different and weird things to eat when he was little, and so in turn, he loved to eat a whole bunch of weird things. For example, he likes to eat mushrooms! Eww sick! He loves to eat onions, peppers, olives, beans, salsa and even mustard! He loves all genres of foods too, Mexican, Thai, Indian, Chinese, Native American, you name it, he probably likes it! I felt bad when we first got married because our dinners were pretty simple and boring because that is what I liked, and was used to. I remember Jesse telling me to take a bite of his sandwich that had mustard on it, and I thought I would hate it, but I loved it. I remember Jesse ordering green peppers on our pizza once, and I was terrified to eat it because I never had anything besides pepperoni pizza, but it was amazingly delicious. I remember Jesse ordering buffalo chicken wings, Indian friend bread tacos, subs with spinach, burgers with cheese and onions on it, just all these different things that I never would have ate before because I always thought they were so gross. Slowly but surely Jesse started opening my taste buds to all these fabulous new foods, and I liked them!! I have him to thank, in part, for my love of cooking. He has showed me all these beautiful, tasty foods that I now love, and I now love to cook for him.

This brings me to the dinner we had last night. I made Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches. Now, before we were married, if you were to ask me to eat something with buffalo sauce on it, I would have said no way Jose, that stuff is too spicy!  I know that Jesse LOVES buffalo sauce. And as his wife, I only want to make him happy, and because I’m Italian, I want to make him happy by making his belly happy ha! So I pushed my fears aside and started cooking buffalo things. And boy, has it been one of the best cooking decisions ever! I still am not big on really spicy things, but I just add as much buffalo sauce as I can tolerate and then Jesse adds more to his sandwich.  If you are not as picky as I was, and you enjoy buffalo sauce, these sandwiches are fast, easy and definitely delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • ¼ C buffalo Sauce
  • ¼ C plain Greek Yogurt
  • ¼ C shredded cheese
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • Hamburger buns

Directions:

  1. Place your two chicken breasts into a shallow baking dish. Cover them with tinfoil and put them in the 375 degree oven for about an hour and a half to an hour and forty five minutes. You want to make sure they are fully cooked!
  2. IMG_1674
  3. Take your two chicken breasts out of the oven and place them on a cutting board. Take two forks and shred both of your chickens.
  4. IMG_1675
  5. Then place the shredded chicken back into your shallow baking dish.
  6. Add your buffalo sauce, yogurt, cheese and salt and pepper. Stir them all into the chicken really well.
  7. IMG_1676
  8. Pop back into the oven for about 10 mins so that everything can get nice and hot again.
  9. Once done, pile the chicken on to your hamburger buns and enjoy!!

IMG_1677 

(Yes that is Prudy begging for some buffalo chicken!)

IMG_1682

(Jesse enjoying his beer with dinner!)

Leave a Reply

