Fiesta Bowls

I came up with this dinner based on the fact that Jesse and I just LOVE Chipotle. Well actually Jesse LOVES Chipotle and I like it! Jesse usually gets this giant, humongous filled burrito that usually makes him feel sick after because he ate too much, and I usually get their tasty salad bowls. Unfortunately we can’t ever eat at Chipotle as much as we would like. It gets pretty dang expensive, and there are not as many Chipotles here in Seattle as there was in Arizona.  So I decided to come up with our own version of a Chipotle dish. We call them Fiesta Bowls. Jesse and I have this meal probably 3-4 times a month because it possess two of my favorite criteria’s for picking out dinners. 1. It is sooooo fast and 2. It is sooooo easy.  Also you can garnish it anyway you like. That is good for Jesse because he loves to add things to his bowl that I wouldn’t add to my bowl and we both love the way our bowls turn out! Whenever I get home late from work, Jesse and I typically whip this dinner up in a matter of 10-15mins. Now, it’s not anywhere near something as tasty as you would find at Chipotle, but I think it does a good job holding us over until our next visit to Chipotle comes along.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ C Instant white rice
  • Few sprigs of Cilantro
  • 2 TBS Lime juice
  • ½ C black beans
  • ½ C corn
  • 1 Chicken breast cut into bit size pieces
  • Dash of Chili Powder
  • Dash of Paprika
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • Tortilla Chips

For Garnishing:

  • Lettuce
  • Cheese
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Sour Cream
  • Jalapenos

Directions:

  1. Cook your bite sized chicken in a frying pan. Season with Chili powder, paprika and salt and pepper. Cook Chicken until it is completely cooked through.
  2. Cook your rice according to the packaged directions in a medium sized sauce pan. When you pour your rice into your boiling water, also add in your lime juice and cilantro at this point so it gives the rice a good 5 minutes to soak up the flavors.
  3. Once your rice is done, remove your pot from the heat and mix in your beans, corn and cooked chicken. Let them sit together, with the lid on the sauce pan, for about 3-4 minutes so everything can get nice and hot!
  4. IMG_1644
  5. Then transfer your rice mixture to bowls and garnish as you please. I love to add cheese, lettuce, guacamole, and plain Greek yogurt (or sour cream if you like) and Jesse likes to also add salsa and jalapenos to his.
  6. Then we eat! We like to eat ours with tortilla chips because I like the extra crunch of the chips. (I’m a texture person. The texture of my meal has to be pleasing or I can’t eat it ha!) It also is tasty to eat it with the tortilla chips because they give that extra little flavor of salt without it being an overly salty dish.

Enjoy!

IMG_1650

Leave a Reply

