Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes

Typically this time of year, I would be sitting pool side, maybe drinking a refreshing beer and sunbathing. That was how it always was in the HOT Arizona summers. Starting from April until what felt like an eternity (but was really only till like Septemberish) it was never cooler the 110 degrees so, I had no choice but to either stay by the refreshing pool, or stay in the house closest to the A/C vents. But now, since we have moved to Seattle, the summer heat doesn’t even start showing up until after 4th of July! I am still wearing a jacket in the mornings! Complete 180 degree difference from my standard summer. However, there are warm days scattered throughout the months from April to July. That’s when I try to really enjoy the sun, and by enjoying the sun, I mean baking a sweet treat that is perfect for warm days ;).

Key Lime pie is so tasty! I remember in high school, a friend of mine was in a cooking class and she made key lime pie in her class one day. She was nice enough to share a piece with me. I had never had Key Lime pie before, but I still remember eating that first bite and thinking I DIDN’T want this pie to end!!! It was absolutely delicious!! To me, it is a perfect dessert to have when the weather starts to warm up. So I thought it would be great to take advantage of the sun beaming in through the kitchen windows and bake. I decided to make mini Key Lime cheesecakes. I made a small batch because I have learned the hard way, that with all the moisture in the air here, things tend to get moldy much faster! And well let’s face it, if I make a lot of some sort of dessert, I eat a lot of it, and that is never good ha!

Ingredients: (you can use actual Key Limes for this, but I had regular limes on hand, so I just used those)

  • 1 pkg (8oz) Cream Cheese, at room temperature
  • ¼ Cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. Lime zest
  • 3 TBS lime juice (You like it to have a strong lime flavor? Add some more lime juice)
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg

For the crust:

  • 1 sleeve of graham crackers
  • ½ Cup melted butter
  • ¼ Cup Sugar
  • cupcake liners

Directions:

  1. First, crush the graham crackers into fine little pieces. I like to put mine in a baggie and use a rolling-pin to hit them until they are nice and small.
  2. Then mix in your sugar. Add in your melted butter.
  3. Mix everything until the graham crackers are pretty moist and they are easy to press into a cupcake pan.
  4. Place nine cupcake liners into your cupcake pan and press your graham crackers into the liners. If you want a nice thick crust, add about two spoonfuls of graham crackers to each liner.
  5. Place in the 350 degree oven for only 7-8mins.
  6. While your graham cracker crust is cooking, mix together in a bowl, the room temperature cream cheese, sugar, lime zest, lime juice and vanilla. (I like to taste it at this point to see if I should add more lime juice to it)
  7. Once all that is mixed well, add you egg.
  8. Place your key lime mixture on top of your graham cracker crust. I like to fill my cupcake liners until they are about ¾ full.
  9. Place in the oven at 350 degrees for 35-40 mins. Let cool completely to room temperature. I took off my cupcake liners at this point. Then place them in the refrigerator till chilled.

Enjoy!

IMG_1616

IMG_1619

Leave a Reply

